New Town Primary School picks up STEAM

AFTER competing against more than 1,600 other entrants, New Town Primary School teacher Ruth Goodman has been announced the Tasmanian winner of the 2019 OfficeMax and Winc Australia STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Mathematics) Grants Program.

The annual grants program provides support to schools through resources and funding to integrate STEAM learning.

Teachers from across the country won a combined $50,000 grant, with the national winner receiving $15,000.

“We’re thrilled to be awarded the OfficeMax and Winc Australia STEAM grant,” Ms Goodman said.

“New Town Primary School is small with only 370 students, but our students are already extremely passionate about STEAM learning, reflecting on their outlook and connecting their learning to critical thinking.

“At New Town Primary School, we believe that STEAM programs will allow students, educators, learners and leaders to become the innovators of the 21st century.

“We find that there is limited access to resources.

“These funds will help our teachers overcome these challenges and assist with their professional development to create new challenging and rewarding programs for our students.”

A smart algorithm called Grant Bot helped judge the winners, alongside Swinburne University astrophysicist associate professor Alan Duffy and marine biologist and whale snot researcher Dr Vanessa Pirotta.

Winc Australia chief executive officer Darren Fullerton said the response to the STEAM Grant Bot Program was impressive.

“We were blown away by the response we’ve seen from teachers and schools alike,” he said.

“The level of interest in creating more opportunities to integrate STEAM-based learning to help future generations think critically and flexibly to adapt to our rapidly evolving environment is growing year on year.

“Ruth Goodman displayed a true passion for STEAM, and she is set to prepare our next generation with the requirements needed to develop a promising career.”

Ms Goodman, alongside the seven other winners, will receive $5000 for her school to spend on her choice of STEAM teaching equipment and resources from OfficeMax and Winc Australia.

Ms Goodman said the school was planning use the funding to purchase film equipment, with the hopes to enter the MyState Student Film Festival later this year.

Caption: New Town Primary School students Abhi Shaastry, left, and Josh Banks.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Hobart Observer

The Hobart Observer is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in and around the City of Hobart. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top