Eddie Ockenden wins Tasmanian Athlete of the Year Award

INTERNATIONAL hockey player Eddie Ockenden has won the 2014 Tasmanian Athlete of the Year Award.

The award recognises outstanding performance at the international level, contribution to the athlete’s sport and contribution to the Tasmanian sporting community.

Ockenden won the award after achieving the following outstanding results in 2014:

  • Gold medal 2014 Hockey World Cup.
  • Gold medal 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games.
  • Gold medal 2014 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup.
  • Captain of the Tasmanian Tigers Australian Hockey League(AHL) team that won its first national championship.
  • AHL player of the tournament.

The other finalists for 2014 were George Bailey (cricket), Grant Birchall (AFL), Amy Cure (cycling), Tim Deavin (hockey) and Hamish Peacock (athletics).

Previous winners are Matthew Goss (cycling) in 2011, Daniel Geale (boxing) in 2012 and Richie Porte (cycling) in 2013.

The Tasmanian Institute of Sport (TIS), in conjunction with Southern Cross Television, support the annual award recognising the best performance by a Tasmanian athlete over a 12-month period.

The Tasmanian Athlete of the Year is determined by a panel of judges from Sport and Recreation Tasmania, the TIS and Tasmanian sports journalists.


Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Hobart Observer

The Hobart Observer is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in and around the City of Hobart. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

Leave A Comment

What’s new?

Go to Top