100 years of OHA hockey

THE OHA Hockey Club is celebrating its 100th birthday this year.

President David McCambridge said a centenary committee was established four years ago to develop events to appropriately celebrate and recognise the club’s history.

“With the season proper soon to be completed, our centenary year will culminate in two gala events on 12 October at Princes Wharf No 1 on Hobart’s waterfront,” he said.

“During the day, between 10.30am and 12.30pm, the club will recognise our junior members at the 2019 season award presentations.

“It will be followed that evening by a gala dinner starting at 5pm.

“The club wants all past and present players, members, supporters and families to participate in the events to help appropriately celebrate and remember those moments and memories from the club’s first 100 years.”

Mr McCambridge said the OHA Hockey Club was the largest hockey club in Tasmania.

“We field teams from under eights to masters, covering age brackets from five years old to 70 plus, covering boys, girls, men and women,” he said.

The OHA Hockey Club was formed in 1919 to accommodate ex-Hobart High School students wanting to stay together after their schooling years had finished.

In 1919, there was one team with limited facilities and few teams to play against.

Today, OHA is a thriving and successful club, both on and off the field.

Mr McCamrbidge said the club had more than 400 members, including players, supporters and parents involved in volunteer positions like coaching, administrative or committee roles.

For more information or to buy tickets to the gala dinner, visit www.ohahockeyclub.com or contact Chris Sargent at email 100years@ohahockeyclub.com or mobile 0407 510 443.

Caption: Members of the OHA Hockey Club – a male and female from each 10-year age bracket – at the Tasmanian Hockey Centre recently. They are, from left, Ebonee Brooks, Hugh Greensmith, Evie Dalton, Harry Winch, Esther Scott, Jackson Turner, Sofie McLeod, Shane Gillie, Steph O’May, Hayden Steele, Helen Richards , David Sault, Robyn McCambridge, Craig Shields, Tony Clifford, Peter Woolford, John Sargent, Lyndsey McLeod and Beth McLeod.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Hobart Observer

The Hobart Observer is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in and around the City of Hobart. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top